Six Inductees To Enter Maryland Food Industry Hall Of Fame

Published in Food World, September 2010

Six notables from the food industry will make up the eighth class to be inducted into the Maryland Food Industry Hall of Fame. The 2010 inductees are: Don Bennett (Richfood); Anthony D’Anna (Mars Super Markets); Paul Diamond (Food-A-Rama); Robert Lawless (McCormick & Company); Tom Saquella (Maryland Retailers Association); and Roddy Smith (Schmidt Baking Company). The Hall of Fame membership will stand at 71 with the induction of the 2010 class.

The Maryland Food Dealers Council of the Maryland Retailers Association started the Hall of Fame in 2003. Rob Santoni Jr., chairman of the Food Dealers Council, says the 2010 class underscores the purpose of the Hall of Fame to honor those "who made a significant contribution to the food industry in Maryland."

The 2010 induction ceremony and breakfast will be on November 4 at Martin’s West in Baltimore. The breakfast starts at 8:00 a.m. with the induction ceremony following. Food World’s Manos Retail Executive of the Year Award will also be presented.

Many from the trade, both current and past, are expected to attend. Many will arrive before 8:00 a.m. and stay afterwards to enjoy the camaraderie, seeing old colleagues and renewing old friendships. "This is one of the highlight events of the year," said Food World publisher Jeff Metzger, "and a great time to catch up with some of the real personalities of the industry."

Doors open at 7:30 a.m. See the MRA page of this issue to get further details.